top of page

S.G. Blaise



How did you decide to become a writer? Include age when you began to write.

My writing journey began when I dreamed of becoming a professional writer around the age of ten. I wrote my first story after waking up from a nightmare. However, I only started calling myself a writer when I began working on my first book, The Last Lumenian, in 2014.


​I spent over six years developing and writing the story until it was ready for publication. My main inspiration came from a dream. I was on a cross-country road trip across Europe with my family. I woke up in the middle of the night, jetlagged, with an idea, and wrote it down with the only illumination coming from my phone. It was the first draft of my story. Although a lot changed from that version to the one I published, the world, characters, and storyline all started there.


What inspires you, and motivates you to write?

I'm inspired to write knowing that I'm creating a unique experience for my readers. I hope to create stories that gets readers thinking about the characters even after the book is finished. Although these stories take place in an intergalactic setting, the characters go through experiences similar to what we experience, and the reader sees it from a different perspective.


​What genres do you write? Or plan to write in the future?

While The Last Lumenian series is a fantasy action story, it also weaves together elements of romance, magic, and mythology with science fiction, creating an original and complex setting for the main hero. The readers experience multiple storylines that allow them to be truly immersed inside the story and get to know Lilla and her world as if they are experiencing it themselves. ​


Do you get writer's block? What do you do to get out of your writing funk?

Through my writing journey, I have discovered a method that works for me that eliminates writer's block. I tend to generate as many notes as possible and produce a rough outline of each scene. So when I sit down to write, I let the words flow like water. While this may not work for everyone, I also find it vital to have other creative outlets that allow my mind time to take a step back and think before going back to writing again. I've recently taken up improv and found it remarkable to assist my writing and incorporate more improvisation when needed.


Share an inspirational story you encountered on your writing journey.

It is surreal to look back at the very beginning. There were so many emotions--excitement, joy, and even fear. At first, I felt embarrassed to call myself a writer. Hiding the fact that I began to write a book. It was the most vulnerable I’ve ever felt--writing is like opening up your soul. Letting your readers gain a glimpse of who you are. It was exhilarating and so scary at the same time! When I sat down and began to write, it was like the floodgates opening up.. Every second I had, I spent it on writing. Every fiber of my being demanded I keep writing, no matter what.


I realized that I had a serious need to learn the writing craft that would allow me to tell the best story. So I searched for a place where I could take workshops focusing on writing and found a local writing community. This wonderful community offered many useful resources and workshops. I immediately signed up for one. That first critique session, I sat on needles and was sweating bullets, waiting for my turn to bear the comments and critiques. I had no idea how it would feel! How would I react if someone would be too critical of my writing? I knew that I did not want to be defensive or to take it too much to heart, it would destroy my ability to keep writing. I decided then and there that I would keep an open mind. Anything they said might help make my writing better. My goal was to elevate my writing and become a better writer. The fact that I was shaking like a leaf, and could barely take notes was beside the point. Yes, there was frustration hearing certain comments that seemed to miss the point, prompting a reflexive and protective stance that wanted to bubble to the surface, but I smashed that urge to speak up and took the comments smiling, deciding to examine them later. Not only did I survive that twenty minutes where eight people took turns commenting on my baby, (I mean writing!), but I left that meeting feeling inspired and with a slightly better understanding of storytelling. I chalked it up as a win! This experience taught me that when we push ourselves out of our comfort zone, there are endless possibilities to where it might lead us.


The most recent release or the next book you're about to release......Share blurb and 5 reasons why someone should read that book. Include a link if already released. If there are any reviews for this book, please include them as well.

My most recently released book is True Teryn, the second book in the Last Lumenian series. However, the third book in the series, Proud Pada, is set to be released on December 6th, 2022.


Lilla is on her next mission as a Sybil, when she must travel to the Pada world following the trail of a ruthless murderer. Navigating deadly politics turns increasingly difficult, when the Teryn emperor goes missing. Now the Teryn empire is heading towards civil war, and Lilla must uncover who is behind the conspiracy before it's too late. Unfortunately her success depends on the Proud Pada.


5 Reasons Why Someone Should Read Proud Pada 1. Come along for an epic Sci-Fi Fantasy Thriller that will keep you on your toes. 2. Escape reality with Proud Pada and get absorbed into an intergalactic world. 3. Lilla is a beacon for female empowerment and continues to fight for others and the ones she loves. 4. Find out the future of Lilla and Callum as they encounter their next adventure. 5. Get absorbed into an intergalactic world embroider international rebellion and large scale divine war



Who is your ideal audience?

Sci-Fi Fantasy lovers any age from 15+


What sets you apart from other writers?

I differ from other authors because I want to make the world a better place, one fantasy at a time. Not only do my stories offer a much-needed escape from reality, but they also contain underlying themes to help readers process experiences in their life in a way they might not have thought of before. Furthermore, I aim to help other aspiring writers fulfill their dreams of being an author by offering tips and tools to assist in their writing journey.


Is there another author your books are similar to?

The Last Lumenian Series has sci-fi elements similar to Brandon Sanderson’s Skyward and fantasy elements like Wheel of Time from Robert Jordan.


If you have multiple books available, which one is your favorite? And why?

Although each book in the series holds a special place in my heart, my favorite book in The Last Lumenian Series is the first in the series, The Last Lumenian. The Last Lumenian lays the groundwork for the series as a whole. It introduces the main character Lilla and gives background into her upbringing to provide the reader with a better understanding of the character.


What does your writing process entail? Planner, pantser? Research required? Editing methods? etc

My writing process entails spending a couple of months researching, developing notes, and outlining the story. Once writing starts, I spend anywhere from 4-8 hours on writing, as long as it takes to finish the scenes I started on. After, my work is sent to the editor for any needed adjustments. I have found that this process works best for me.


Behind the scenes......Music or no? Any other tactics used in the aid of writing?

Depending on the scene I am working on, I will put on some music or eat something that might provide further inspiration for the writing process.


What would you tell a new writer to help them get started?

If you want to write a story, sit down and start writing now! When inspiration sparks, fan the fire and write for as long as you can. Sometimes the hardest part about a writing journey is the beginning, but it will be worth it in the end.


Do you have a newsletter? Share a subscribe link if you have one. Include what to expect with your issues.

Yes, I do have a newsletter. Those who sign up for my newsletter will get access to preview an exclusive first look at all content relating to The Last Lumenian Series and any of my upcoming projects and events.


Click the link and sign up! sgblaisenews.com

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page