top of page

Pat Spencer


How did you decide to become a writer? Include age when you began to write.

I first decided to become a writer in First Grade when my teacher made a big fuss over my report on George Washington. But in my later years, when my career guidance counselor told me how little the average writer earns (think starving artist syndrome), I decided to go into education and write as a sideline. During that time, I wrote for a newspaper, a tabletop magazine, and a trade journal and published a textbook. Only after retiring did I write fiction. ​


What inspires you, and motivates you to write?

I enjoy the writing process so that motivates me. I also like the camaraderie of participating in writers' critique groups. I also think writing is good for the brain.


What genres do you write? Or plan to write in the future?

My published book, Story of a Stolen Girl, is an international thriller. My two works in progress are historical and literary fiction. I also published several short stories. ​


Do you get writer's block? What do you do to get out of your writing funk?

So far, knock on wood, I have not had writer's block ​


The most recent release or the next book you're about to release......Share a blurb and 5 reasons why someone should read that book. Include a link if already been released. If there are any reviews for this book, please include them as well.

I am currently querying publishers for two books: Golden Boxty in the Frypan which is inspired by my mother's experiences as an orphan in the 1930s. The second novel is Sticks in a Bundle: The Early Years. This novel, the first of a trilogy, is about a woman, born in South Africa in 1961, who grows up in a Soweto shanty under the rule of apartheid. She dedicates herself to fighting racial injustice with her written words. ​


Who is your ideal audience?

My ideal audience is made up of readers who like to learn while being entertained and are ages 13 to 100+. ​


What sets you apart from other writers?

I think I am more compulsive than most writers about editing prior to letting anyone read my work. ​


Is there another author your books are similar to? Share all that applies to each book.

Others have compared my writing to Barbara Kingsolver's work. I am humbled when someone says this. I only wish that were true.


If you have multiple books available, which one is your favorite? And why?

Story of a Stolen Girl is the only book I have published at this moment unless you count my textbook. The novel is definitely my favorite so far. I also several published short stories. ​


What does your writing process entail? Planner, pantser? Research required? Editing methods? etc

I do an enormous amount of research before and during the writing process. I try to be a planner, but as I write, I have bouts of being a pantser. ​


Behind the scenes......Music or no? Any other tactics used in the aid of writing?

I don't listen to music while writing, but I do while editing. I get tense and irritated when finding some of my dumb mistakes or reading something that I thought was wonderful, but now makes no sense at all, so I listen to soothing music during editing. ​


What would you tell a new writer to help them get started?

Read online articles about the craft, and specifically read lots within your desired genre. And join a supportive, yet honest, critique group. ​


Is there anything you would like to add? Any tips or anecdotes you'd like to share?

It is important to me that my writing takes the reader to a place, era, or circumstance they know little about and leads them to learn more about the subject.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page